Daily Archives: August 29, 2010

Cauliflower Cakes

Forever ago, I saw a recipe on Meet Me in the Kitchen for Cauliflower Fritters. I bookmarked the recipe, knowing that I wanted to come back to try it out. Well, the day finally came!

The ingredients are simple: cauliflower, flour, breadcrumbs, eggs, and cheese. The results are divine!

I ended up making a few small tweaks to the recipe. You’re supposed to steam the cauliflower until soft and then go to town on it with a masher. I didn’t have a masher, so I made due with a fork and wooden spoon. I think the results were a little lumpier than what was intended, but didn’t mind since I thought these were a little reminiscent of crab cakes. Next time, I think I would try the “ricing” method to prepare the cauliflower (as shown in the cauliflower pizza crust recipe).

Cauliflower Cakes

  • 1 large cauliflower head
  • 1/4 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1/4 cup Italian bread crumbs (or plain bread crumbs mixed with your favorite seasoning mix)
  • 1/4 cup parmesan cheese
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 Tbsp oil

Directions: Steam the cauliflower for 10-15 minutes until tender. Mash the cauliflower in a large bowl and let cool. (Alternate method: Grate the cauliflower into a large bowl and heat in the microwave for six minutes and let cool.) Once cooled, combine the cauliflower with flour, bread crumbs, cheese and eggs. Roll the mixture into balls and flatten to form patties. Heat oil in a skillet over medium heat. In batches, cook the patties for 4 minutes on each side. Serve the cauliflower cakes with your favorite dipping sauce (I used honey mustard vinaigrette).

Enjoy!