The Big News

Hello, people of the internet! Let me apologize upfront for disappearing for so long. But this time, I think that I have a pretty valid excuse.

Remember when I teased you all with having an exciting announcement to share in a week? Well, there were some complications with that. Without being able to share my news with you, I just couldn’t come up with any words at all to share with you in the meantime. Every time I tried to start writing, I just felt like a big phony for keeping a secret from you all!

But things have finally gotten sorted out and I can finally share my announcement with you!

No, I’m not pregnant.

No, I didn’t run off to Vegas and get married.

No, I didn’t win the lottery.

No, Bill Gates did not name me CEO of Microsoft.

No, I didn’t find a one hundred dollar bill on the street.

But yes….

I’M MOVING TO CONNECTICUT!!!!!!!

Wow, does that feel good to get off my chest and finally tell you guys!

A lot of your minds may have already jumped to Mister E, and you would be correct in thinking that he’s the main reason for this move. However, there are lots of other contributing factors to my decision as well. I don’t know if I’ve ever mentioned it here, but I was actually born in Connecticut and spent the first seven years of my life there. I have TONS of family still in the area. Besides the family, I also have several friends scattered across the state and in the NYC and Boston area. I’m also super excited to be back in the same time zone as my parents! Hopefully it will be much easier to visit them more often now that I’ll be closer. While there are a million wonderful things about Seattle, it’s been a struggle living here thousands of miles away from my close friends and family. I’m really looking forward to being close to my support system once again!

But who am I kidding? Wouldn’t you be willing to move anywhere for this handsome devil too?

The decision for me to move to Connecticut was actually made well over a year ago! Back then, Mister E and I had a series of pretty serious conversations about which one of us should be the one to relocate. After much discussion, we decided that it made the most sense – personally and professionally – for us both to live in Connecticut.

That means that for the past year, I’ve been actively job hunting, and let me tell you, it’s a rough market out there! Along the way there have been dozens of job applications, a handful of close calls, two phone interviews, one offer, and too many tears to count!

At some point, I’d like to go into more details about the entire process and share with you all the emotional roller coaster side of it. But for now, I’ll keep it brief, since I have some serious packing to get to. Oh, did I mention that I’m moving in less than two weeks?

Things are going to be pretty busy around here for the next few days, but I hope to resume somewhat of a regular posting schedule now that we’re all in on my secret. I have the whole past month to catch you guys up on!

Any moving tips or recommendations that you guys have will be much appreciated!

Even though I once moved from Florida to Washington, my current company paid for my relocation, so there was very little for me to worry about. This time I’m footing the bill and I’m feeling a little overwhelmed with all the different options there are for getting my stuff across the country!

7 responses to “The Big News

  1. Congratulations and good luck with the move!

  2. Congratulations! Best of luck!

  3. yay! moving has got to be so overwhelming, good luck! Guess i can give you your b-day gift in person this year!

  4. wow!!! congratulations! it’s really better if you are closer to mister E :)

  5. Pingback: How I’m Coping | More Fruit Please

  6. Pingback: Cross-Country Road Trip Day 2 | More Fruit Please

  7. Pingback: Turning Two | More Fruit Please

Share Your Thoughts

