Mini Blueberry Clafoutis

Isn’t clafoutis the funniest word you’ve heard today? I like repeating it over and over just because it’s so different. If you’re a little lost on what a clafoutis is, this excerpt from Wikipedia* might help:

Clafoutis is a baked French dessert of black cherries arranged in a buttered dish and covered with a thick flan-like batter. The clafoutis is dusted with powdered sugar and served lukewarm.

IMG_0805

I first heard of a clafoutis when Jenna posted her easy, blender version. However, I didn’t have cherries on hand and was really looking to use up a pint of blueberries** that was rapidly approaching their shelf life. After a little bit of searching around online, I found this recipe from Poor Girl Eats Well and was sold! I convienently had everything in my fridge and pantry, and I would bet my bottom dollar*** that you do too.

IMG_0710IMG_0733

IMG_0763

IMG_0742

IMG_0753

The only change that I made to PGEW’s recipe was to make my clafoutis into a dozen mini-sized clafoutis by using a muffin pan. I still set my oven to 350 degrees, but my cooking time was cut in half from what the recipe called for.

IMG_0766

Didn’t they turn out so pretty? I absolutely love the way that they look. These would be a great dessert to serve at a baby or bridal shower or any other type of family gathering. (Remember though, if you make the mini version – the recipe only makes a dozen!)

IMG_0804

So quick, run out to your local grocery store and pick up a pint of blueberries before they go completely out of season. If it’s already too late for blueberries in your neck of the woods, why don’t you try blackberries or raspberries and let me know how it turns out! Oh, and it’s suggested that you serve your clafoutis warm, but I didn’t mind eating one cold the next day. Just hold off on adding the powdered sugar until right before you serve them.

* Why do I trust Wikipedia as my source of education on practically everything?

** I know why. Because I learn things like a traditional clafoutis is made with cherries. If you use any other sort of fruit, it’s technically supposed to be called flaugnarde. Flaugnarde doesn’t sound so pretty, so we’re going to stick with clafoutis.

*** Do you ever wonder where phrases like “bet your bottom dollar” come from (other than the musical Annie)? It turns out, it basically means that you’re betting your last dollar because you’re so confident in something.

And that concludes today’s education from Wikipedia.

One response to “Mini Blueberry Clafoutis

  1. Never heard of clafoutis…but sign me up. They sound amazing!

Share Your Thoughts

