Happy Snow-O-Ween!

Apparently the snow we got the other night was just a little preview of what was to come this weekend! I know snow is going to be a regular part of my life now that I’m in Connecticut, but truthfully, I just wasn’t mentally prepared to deal with it so early on in the year!

On Saturday, around 1 p.m., big, heavy snowflakes started to fall from the sky. I was out running errands at the time, but at that point, the snow wasn’t sticking to the ground so I wasn’t too concerned. I made it home by 2:30, ready to eat a late lunch while watching the latest episode of Modern Family, but Mother Nature had other plans for me. As soon as I sat down, the power went out!

I waited all afternoon, keeping my fingers crossed that my power would be restored. By dusk, there was still no power and still no sign of the snow letting up. At that point, I made the tough decision that I would have to cancel on the Halloween Party I was supposed to attend later that evening (I was so excited to have you guys see my costume!). I think I could have made it to the party alright, but was concerned about driving home in the dark during a snow storm with possible icy road conditions.

It turns out that there really isn’t much to do while sitting in the dark in a freezing apartment with a dead phone. As my thermostat dropped down to 55 degrees, I bundled up with two pairs of socks and an extra thick hoodie and snuggled under the covers with Prince and Kaylie.

Bored out of my mind, I tried to go to bed at 7 p.m., but the sounds of tree limbs creaking and snapping off kept me up. I finally picked up a new book that my mother gave me, Freakin’ Fabulous, and read by flashlight while eating mini peanut butter cups by the handful. Looking at this picture, I would estimate that I finished off about half the container. Finally, around 9 p.m. I was able to doze off for the night.

I woke up at 7:30 a.m. Sunday morning to completely quiet surroundings. I bundled up in lots of layers, gloves, a scarf, and a hat and took Prince outside only to be met with this:

There was so much destruction (not to mention the 12 inch layer of snow covering everything)! It looks like my neighbor who lives in the apartment below mine got the worst of it. She had a branch go straight through her living room window!

It was strange to be out walking on such a serene day with so much damage all around. At least I got to put my new, heavy-duty boots into good use!

Another neighbor came out and we got to work clearing the snow off of our cars and dragging the tree limbs in the driveway off to the side.

Once back inside, I snacked on some granola that I picked up the other day while doing a few chores around my apartment to tidy up.

Eventually, I packed up some of my perishable food items (which I had thrown into the freezer the night before once we lost power) and a load of laundry and headed over to Mister E’s house where there was still power, thankfully.

Once there I was able to eat more of a real breakfast (not that I mind granola, or anything) which consisted of toast, cheese, beef bacon, and an egg. The beef bacon is a new item I thought I would try since I’m not a huge fan of regular bacon. The beef one is alright, although it turns out that I just may not be much of a bacon lover, regardless of what kind it is.

After freshening up with a shower, doing laundry, and catching up on some work online, I returned back to my apartment right before dusk, which was still unfortunately power-less. News reports are saying that over 750 thousand people are without power and that it could be DAYS before it is restored to all areas.

Honestly, I could deal with the snow on the ground and the power being out, but it is just so flippin’ cold in my apartment that it’s miserable. Here’s hoping that my power comes back on today! Oh, and if you’re looking for a smile (I know I am), you might want to check out this video of Prince in action in the snow from last year! He’s super excited about having a full foot of snow to play in this year!

One response to “Happy Snow-O-Ween!

  1. Oh man, you got hit waaaaay worse than we did.
    And no power sucks so much. Especially when you don’t have heat. It was brutal in August going a week with no power, but I can’t Imagine doing that now that it’s 30 degrees out. Hope it comes back soon — but worse comes to worse you can always hunker down with BF, right?

Share Your Thoughts

