Strawberry Basil Sangria from Pinterest

IMG_3524

It’s a running joke among my friends that my life is now controlled by Pinterest. From my holiday decorations to just my regular apartment decor, I draw a lot of inspiration from Pinterest.

I don’t see anything wrong with that since that’s the whole purpose of the site. It can get a little embarrassing however when I’m continually telling people that practically everything in my life – from my outfits to my food – comes from Pinterest. Where’s the originality?

IMG_3533

Well, this sangria is no different although I wish I could tell you that I was the person to come up with it.

About a month ago, I saw a pin for strawberry basil sangria and could barely wait to bring another pin to life. With just a few simple ingredients – strawberries, basil, apples, sugar, white wine, white grape juice, and club soda – I had a light and delicious drink that was perfect for the upcoming summer season. I differed from the original recipe slightly by chopping my basil instead of scoring it and using Pinot Grigio instead of the recommended Chardonnay. My only criticism was that I could taste too much of the grape juice for my personal preference, so next time I would probably cut back on the juice, and add it to my taste preference.

IMG_3526

A very happy drink, indeed.

IMG_3545

Just wait until tomorrow when I show you what I paired the drink with for dinner!

6 responses to “Strawberry Basil Sangria from Pinterest

  1. basil sounds intersting – i would have thought to use mint… now I want to try some!

  2. ah, you’re one-upping my recent blog post about strawberry shakes, haha (omggetthis.blogspot.com)

    • Haha, I think I’ll have to follow up a glass of this sangria with one of your strawberry shakes the next morning to help keep it balanced!

  3. Pingback: Memorial Day Weekend Recipes | More Fruit Please

Share Your Thoughts

