The 26th Birthday

Two weekends ago, I celebrated my 26th birthday. I think it will take a little time to grow into this age as it still feels a little odd to say that I’m 26 years old now.

Physically, of course, there are no changes (unless you count the white hairs on my head that seem to be suddenly tripling in numbers by the day). Emotionally though, it’s a little terrifying to know that it’s official that I’m closer in years to age 30 than 20.

Here’s to another four years before having to go through that milestone!

IMG_0591

I was in Florida for my brother’s graduation right before my birthday and flew home on Saturday afternoon just to make sure that I could spend my actual birthday (Sunday) with Mister E.

After picking me up from the airport, Mister E said that he would be taking me out to dinner that night. But it turned out that he planned a surprise party for me with a close group of friends at Cuvee, a food, wine, and champagne bar in West Hartford!

IMG_0596

Although a little pricey, Cuvee has a great selection of drinks and very tasty appetizers. Champagne cocktails? Don’t mind if I do!

To top the whole evening off, there were presents! Can you see the blue earrings that I’m wearing in the photo below? They were a gift from Lydia (who’s also in the 26-year-old club with me). And Mister E really outdid himself by getting me this Kate Spade weekender bag that I had been pining over.

Since we stayed out past midnight on Saturday night (which is impressively late for me), Sunday, my actual birthday, was a little bit more low key. Mister E had made reservations for us at the Pond House Cafe for brunch. The cafe is located in the middle of Elizabeth Park, and as the name suggests, is situated on the shores of the park’s pond.

IMG_0620

Having brunch at the Pond House Cafe has been on my Connecticut “bucket list” since last summer when I first spotted it. The atmosphere was very relaxed and there was a wide mixture of cliental from families celebrating special occasions to girlfriends getting together to gossip over mimosas. The cafe also has a large banquet hall. While we were there, we saw guests arriving for an engagement party that was taking place there.

We requested to be seated outside so we could enjoy the sunshine and mild temperatures while we dined. After taking an exceptionally long time to peruse their menu, I settled on ordering the Pond House Benedict which was two poached eggs served over a crab cake and cornbread with hollandaise sauce. It was certainly the most unique spin I’ve seen on the classic eggs benedict dish to date and it did not disappoint! I’m not sure if I can go back to eating my eggs with English Muffins after having them with cornbread now!

IMG_0615 

Mister E ordered one of the specials which was a Short Rib Omelet served with roasted potatoes and cornbread. While the omelet wasn’t something I would have personally ordered, it was perfect for Mister E who was looking for a heavier meal with lots of meat.

IMG_0608 

Partly why I took so long making up my mind on what to order was because another dish was calling my name – the French Toast with Strawberry and Rhubarb Compote and Whipped Cream. After much indecision, I decided to order both dishes and split the French toast with Mister E. It was my birthday after all!

IMG_0613

After finishing our meal, we walked around the park for a while taking in the beautiful weather and lovely gardens. I wish we had the forethought to bring a blanket and reading material so we could have stayed and entertained ourselves longer there.

To continue our low key day, I suggested going to the movies. There wasn’t anything playing that really captured my interest, so I offered to go to The Avengers which I know Mister E was dying to see. For anyone who hasn’t seen the movie and isn’t a superhero buff, I would suggest that you familiarize yourself with the back story of Thor. I already knew the general story of the Hulk, Captain America, and Iron Man. Thor was the only one who I kept whispering questions to Mister E about throughout the entire movie.

While walking out of the theater, we found that our beautiful weather had disappeared and had given way to a massive thunderstorm. Before retreating home, we made a quick stop at Ganache to pick up a half dozen of their cupcakes to enjoy later in the evening.

I’m pretty sure I skipped dinner that night in favor of eating half the cupcakes. When else can you have cupcakes for dinner if not your birthday?

I am so grateful to have such a thoughtful boyfriend who would plan a special birthday for me and am doubly grateful for the wonderful friends and family that celebrated it with me!

3 responses to “The 26th Birthday

  1. Sounds like a pretty perfect birthday, and I think I should add pond house to my list of places to go now.
    Also, can i say your hair looks gorgeous and that i am so envious and please come and do my hair every morning. I straighten it, and by the time i get to work, it is turned to fluff because of the humidity.

  2. So glad you did this review–Pond House Cafe has been on my restaurant list for quite a while too! I love Elizabeth park, it’s so beautiful there.

Share Your Thoughts

