Banana Peanut Butter Cups

I’m afraid dinner tonight is quite boring. In attempt to make sure I don’t have to throw out leftovers, I had another helping of my Springy Shells. I added some shredded chicken and mozzarella cheese on top for a little extra protein.

But I do have an exciting snack to share with you all! :-D I’ve seen a couple of variations of chocolate covered banana slices out on the web recently, and decided to give it my own twist.

Banana Peanut Butter Cups

You’ll need one banana, 1/2 cup of your favorite smooth peanut butter (I went with the Peanut Butter Co.’s White Chocolate Wonderful), and about 3/4 cup of chocolate morsels. I first sliced the banana into fairly thick pieces and then dipped then into the peanut butter. I microwaved the peanut butter for about 30 seconds to help thin it out first. I placed my peanut butter banana slices on wax paper and threw them into the freezer for about an hour and a half.

I then set up a double boiler using two small pans (as illustrated below) and threw my chocolate in. Normally the chocolate melts to a nice milky consistency, but I couldn’t get it to thin out today. It was just a little thicker than peanut butter. I’m wondering if the fact that I used organic chocolate made a difference?

The plan was to dunk the frozen peanut butter banana chunks into the chocolate, but since it stayed thick, I ended up taking a knife and spreading a chocolate layer on top of all of my banana rounds. I threw them back into the freezer for a few hours and ended up with this:

Delicious! I think I’m going to keep these in the freezer since they’ll make an excellent treat on a hot day if summer ever decides to show up here! ;-)

After dinner, I spent some quality time with the neglected Kaylie:

Tomorrow, my plan is to get some exercise. I think there will be a break in the weather during the morning, so I hope to get outside. If not, I think I need to pull out a fitness DVD.

Does anyone else use fitness DVDs/ Tapes/Downloads? What’s your favorite?

4 responses to “Banana Peanut Butter Cups

  1. Interesting snack! I made chocolate covered oreos this weekend, but I didn’t get to eat any because they were for fundraiser bake sale. I’ll probably make more tomorrow though…

  2. These look delicious! I think I will try these and keep them as treats, that’s a great idea.
    I really want to get some exercise DVDs soon. There is a great series called 10 minute solutions that sound great. And I’ve seen this site called yoga download.com that sounds good – check it out!

  3. your banana peanut butter cups is probably one of the most genius things. ever.

Share Your Thoughts

