Daily Archives: July 26, 2010

EVOOIAJ

Long enough acronym for ya? Dinner tonight was a mash up of Easy Vegan Overnight Oats In A Jar!

I prepared these oats last night by putting 1/3 cup of oats, 2/3 cup almond milk, 1/2 tsp vanilla extract, and a couple shakes of cinnamon in a nearly empty jar of peanut butter. Before digging into this tonight, I added some chopped apple pieces.

All mixed up…

This was absolutely delicious and a great way to use up the last bits of peanut butter in the jar so that nothing goes to waste!

And just to ensure that absolutely nothing went to waste tonight, Prince made sure ever last morsel was gone. :-D

I feel like this picture is reminiscent of what you might expect to see come out of a fraternity house after a late night of partying! :-D

While watching The Bachelorette tonight, I first munched on a small bowl of pasta salad and then had a couple of Ritz crackers with a wedge of Laughing Cow cheese.

Tonight while I was walking Prince, I came across a sweet elderly woman who seemed to be walking around just staring up at the sky. I asked her if she was alright and she replied, “Oh yes, I’m just looking for my moon.” She meant that she was looking to see if she could see the moon yet since it was supposed to be close to full tonight, but I still thought it was such an adorable response!

No Veggie Left Behind

I’m in a very green mood today. I originally had plans to have overnight oats for breakfast this morning, but when I woke up, I was really craving a green monster! I was feeling a little bloated yesterday and I think my body knew that the best way to fight bloat is with plenty of dark, leafy greens!

Into the blender went two large handfuls of spinach, one cup of almond milk, half of a frozen banana, a large handful of frozen peaches, and a small handful of frozen strawberries. This was just what the doctor ordered! I felt instantly better after having this and feel wonderful about getting my day off to the right start. It’s no surprise that Kaylie was interested in the green monster since most times, she’s a little monster herself!

I’m going on a trip this weekend and will be out of the house for five days. I don’t want to leave any fruits or veggies behind that will just rot in my absence, so I’ve enacted the No Veggie Left Behind effort that starts today. I got a great start with using up some spinach with my green monster, and continued down that path with making a salad for lunch. I used up half a head of lettuce, my last stalk of broccoli, and half of my carrots. I garnished the salad with sliced almonds and shredded cheese and honey mustard vinaigrette.

Apparently my fur babies have nothing better to do than to sniff my food!

For a snack, I packed a sliced apple with almond butter and 2/3 of a key lime pie Larabar (I had two bites of the bar last night).

I still have lots of spinach, half a head of lettuce, some carrots, an entire eggplant, a whole spaghetti squash, a tub of mixed melon, and two apples to work my way through eating in the next two and a half days for the No Veggie Left Behind act. I’m pretty confident that I’ll be successful except for the eggplant. That’s the only thing that I don’t know if I’ll manage to finish off. Does anyone know if I can freeze eggplant after cooking it?

Oh, and someone please help Prince. I believe I might have come dangerously close to crossing the cruelty line with him this weekend.

I don’t care if this is cruel, look how cute he is! Don’t worry, he got lots of treats for being such a great hat model!

Question:

If you had to describe your mood with a color today, what would it be?

Despite being so green today, I have a very yellow mood today. I’ve been surprisingly chipper all morning!

~B