Hot Crab and Mushroom Dip

IMG_2393

Growing up, I read the newspaper every single day. I would get home from school, grab a package of peanut butter crackers and pour myself a tall glass of Crystal Light Raspberry Ice and settle into the booth in the kitchen with the newspaper in hand. I would always start with the Living section, which was really the best section since it usually included the celebrity gossip column, the horoscopes, the Dear Abby column, the comics, and any articles that had to do with food or fashion. All the most important things to a teenager, obviously. Once I had finished with the Living section, I would then move to the actual front page news. I would skim through all the articles, stopping to actually read only the ones with headlines that really caught my attention.

After going away to college, I stopped reading the paper. It’s so convenient to find my news online to read, and with Facebook, Twitter, and blogs, I have more than enough options with finding interesting articles to read through social media. However, during the few times that I get to go back to my parent’s house in the year, I always fall right back into habit of reading the newspaper on a daily basis in the kitchen booth. Starting with the Living section, naturally.

While I was home for Christmas last year, I came across a large article on how to host a party for New Year’s Eve right on the front page of the Living section. The article gave a couple different party ideas along with a handful of recipes to make. One of the recipes was for Hot Crab and Mushroom Dip which peaked my interest enough that I went as far as to tear the recipe out of the newspaper.

IMG_2466

The recipe sounded so fancy that I knew I would have to save it for a special occasion. I didn’t have to wait too long as my friend, Jennifer, decided to host a Valentine’s Day party in February. A party celebrating the supposedly most romantic day of the year certainly seemed like a special enough occasion to pull the crab dip recipe out of reserves.

IMG_0182

While the ingredient list is a little bit lengthy for my taste and the steps are a little bit involved, I’m so glad that I gave the recipe a chance. The dip was a huge hit at the party and I was definitely a fan of it. The recipe is from The Neelys’ and can be found here. I made a few adjustments like always, most notably the substitution of Greek yogurt for some of the half-and-half. I swear, I think I would try to sneak Greek yogurt into every meal if it possible!

Hot Crab and Mushroom Dip

recipe adapted from here

  • 1/2 stick butter
  • 1 cup mushrooms, chopped
  • 3 cloves of garlic, chopped
  • 1 shallot, chopped
  • 1/4 cup flour
  • 1 cup half-and-half
  • 1 cup Greek yogurt
  • 1/4 cup dry white wine
  • 1 cup fontina cheese, grated
  • 1/4 cup Parmesan cheese, grated
  • 12 oz. lump crabmeat (fresh or canned)
  • 2 Tbsp parsley
  • 1-1/2 tsp hot sauce
  • 2 tsp Worcestershire sauce
  • salt and pepper to taste

Directions: Preheat oven to 425 degrees. In a medium saucepan over medium heat, melt the half a stick of butter. Add the mushrooms, garlic, and shallot to the pan and cook for three minutes. Add the flour and stir the mixture for about one minute. Pour in the half-and-half and stir until the mixture starts to thicken, about three minutes. Add in the Greek yogurt and continue to stir for an additional two to three minutes. Pour in the white wine and add the fontina and Parmesan cheese. Stir until the cheese melts and blends into the mixture. Gently stir in the crabmeat and parsley. Add the hot sauce, Worcestershire sauce, and salt and pepper. Add more if necessary to adjust for taste. Pour the dip mixture into a baking dish and bake at 425 degrees for 15 minutes. Serving with lightly salted pita chips is highly recommended.

IMG_2353

Like I said, this recipe isn’t a quick, throw-together-in-ten-minutes sort of thing. However, the results are absolutely delicious and are sure to impress. Just be prepared to see the dip disappear out of the bowl all too quickly!

4 responses to “Hot Crab and Mushroom Dip

  1. This looks so delicious. It reminds me of something I found in my grandmother’s antique recipe books when she passed them along to me. There was a reason dishes like this became classics. Thank you for reminding me!

    • Recipes from grandmothers are the best! It’s funny that you mention that because when I went through my grandma’s recipes, quite a few of them were clipped out of the newspaper. Cutting this one out of the paper reminded me of her.

  2. Crab and mushroom dip…that sounds gorgeous! It almost wants to be a soup doesn’t it?

    • It’s probably a little too thick for soup, but I was tempted to add pasta to the leftovers and turn it into a sauce! I think that would have been delicious!

Share Your Thoughts

