Daily Archives: April 18, 2012

Easy Weeknight Dinner

20120418-113924.jpg

Last Monday night, Mister E came over to my apartment after work to hang out. It was nearing dinner time (as indicated by my rumbling belly), and I had nothing planned for meal time. I suggested that we go out to eat a restaurant that I had a Groupon for, but Mister E was pretty insistent on staying in.

I racked my brain for meal ideas before remembering a few canned items I had stashed in my pantry. And in less than ten minutes (!!!) we had a pretty fun make-your-own taco dinner ready.

On the tray was:

  • Shredded chicken (that came from a chicken breast that I poached the day before) mixed with enchilada sauce and heated in the microwave
  • a can of refried beans that were heated in the microwave
  • Chopped romaine lettuce
  • Diced tomatoes
  • Plain low-fat Greek yogurt
  • Grated cheddar cheese
  • Whole wheat tortillas
  • Although it might not have been the best dinner I’ve ever thrown together, it still managed to impress even me with how tasty it was. I’ve resolved to always make sure I have refried beans and enchilada sauce in my pantry and tortillas tucked away in the freezer.

    An added bonus was a few nights later, I threw all the leftovers into a bowl after being heated up and I had my own version of a Chipotle burrito bowl! Ok, so it wasn’t as good as a Chipotle bowl, but not bad considering it was leftovers of a dinner that came together in less than ten minutes!