Mint Oreo Truffles

IMG_3500

The other weekend, I had the pleasure of attending Lydia’s birthday party. I was quite excited since Lydia was planning the party herself and she has a great eye for details and all things fabulous. Although she would protest, she really would make a great event planner.

My friendship with Lydia goes a long way back, all the way to infancy, in fact. Before I moved to Florida when I was seven, I spent a great deal of time with Lydia from playing with our Littlest Pet Shop toys, sleeping over at each other’s houses, and attending one another’s birthday parties – I have a lot of childhood memories that include Lydia. After moving away to Florida, Lydia and I became pen pals and would write each other letters once to twice a month (this was before email became standard). So it was very special to reunite for a birthday celebration after missing the last 18 or so in our lives.

I’m on the left and Lydia’s on the right in the picture below.

True to her style, Lydia’s party was indeed fabulous. I think I nearly died three times that night from a food coma. You should check out her birthday recap for the full scoop of what was on the menu since everything she served was delectably tasty. Cookie dough cheesecake, anyone?

What really won me over though was the plate full of mint Oreo truffles.

Yes, mint.

Yes, mint Oreos in fact.

Yes, you read that right. Mint Oreo truffles.

When I was ready to leave the party, Lydia was kind enough to offer me some truffles to take home. I thought it would be rude to say that I would take them all (and the other half of that cookie dough cheesecake as well), so I very politely said that I would take two truffles – one for me and one for Mister E to enjoy the next day.

Except, let’s be real here. The next morning I woke up with a possible sugar hangover and two beautiful mint Oreo truffles staring at me in the face. Do you really think I was generous enough to save one for Mister E?

If you said yes, then you do not know me at all.

So naturally, I had to make my own batch of truffles. Whether I made them to give Mister E a chance to taste them or made them for myself so that I could eat as many as I wanted without judgement is not important. What is important is that these truffles are disproportionately tasty for being so simple to make.

Edits

Mint Oreo Truffles

(recipe adapted from Kraft and inspired by Lydia)
  1. Crush a container of mint Oreo cookies either in a food processor or in a plastic bag using a rolling pin
  2. Transfer cookie crumbs to a large bowl
  3. Stir in one package of softened cream cheese (I used non-fat)
  4. Roll mixture into 1 teaspoon size balls and place onto a wax paper lined cookie sheet
  5. Freeze the truffle balls (not completely necessary but freezing makes the truffles easier to work with)
  6. Melt chocolate (or the preferred Wilton green Candy Melts) at 30 second intervals in the microwave
  7. Dip frozen balls into melted chocolate (with the help of a fork or toothpick) and place onto a wax paper lined plate
  8. Optional – drizzle more melted chocolate on top
  9. Store in an air-tight container in the fridge or freeze for longer storage

IMG_3468

After Lydia told me how she made her mint Oreo truffles, I realized that I had used the same Kraft recipe to make original Oreo truffles years ago for my coworkers. I remember not being all that impressed at all with how they turned out and pretty much wrote the whole recipe off.

Let me reiterate here, these mint Oreo truffles are so delicious and beat out the original kind by a landslide! I think the use of the Wilton Candy Melts instead of chocolate also makes a huge difference.

IMG_3506

I’m surprised that I would even have to say this, but milk is a necessity of course.

IMG_3483

Oh, and I should warn you. You know how sometimes you make cookies but then freeze them all to help with portion control? It makes it easy to just pop one or two cookies out of the freezer at a time to satisfy a craving instead of eating the entire batch? Well, that’s what I planned to do with these truffles. Except there’s a catch. They’re still delicious when frozen! The inside part of the truffle doesn’t completely freeze, so it’s similar to eating an ice cream sandwich. Alright, you’ve been warned now. You’re going to have to find a better hiding spot than the freezer for these babies.

4 responses to “Mint Oreo Truffles

  1. Haha, you are lucky you got two – since I left for florida and had to ABANDON all my desserts there was only one left for me when I got home. Although there are still two pieces of cheesecake in the freezer.

    And I am so craving more of your dip.

  2. These look delicious! definitly going to have to try them!!

    • They’re so good and I’m so upset that they’re gone now. I need another excuse to make them again! I hope you enjoy them if you try them out!

  3. Pingback: Memorial Day Weekend Recipes | More Fruit Please

Share Your Thoughts

